Our Directors

Although the land is owned by Angus Council, several years ago, the management of the golf courses was transferred to Montrose Golf Links Limited.  There are three local Clubs who use Montrose Links as their home course.  The Montrose Caledonia Golf Club, the Montrose Mercantile Golf Club and the Royal Montrose Golf Club all have their own clubhouses and facilities.

Montrose Golf Links is managed by a Board of 13 Directors who are appointed by the organisations who have a direct interest in the Golf Courses.

Angus Council nominates four Directors, at least one of which must be an elected councillor from the Burgh of Montrose. Currently these Directors are Jane Taylor, Walter Scott, Councillor Ron Sturrock and Councillor Tommy Stewart.

The Golf Clubs nominate three Directors each, who must all be season ticket holders, currently they are as follows:

Montrose Caledonia Golf Club – John Littlewood, Ken MacDonald and Philip Duthie

Montrose Mercantile Golf Club –  Stewart Melrose, TBC and TBC

Royal Montrose Golf Club – John Adams, Chris Curnin and Robert Carnegie

The Board of Directors delegate many of their functions to advisory committees consisting of a minimum of three persons each.  Annually, the Board elects a Chairman, Vice-Chairman and the Convenors and members of each committee.  Currently, the Chairman is John Adams and the Vice-Chairman is Stewart Melrose.

Montrose Golf Links currently has the following committees:

  • Finance
  • Greens
  • HR
  • Junior Golf Development
  • Marketing
  • Tournament
  • Business Development